LibraryCon Live! 2018

A Virtual Festival for Book Nerds, Librarians, and Fans of Graphic Novels, Sci-fi, and Fantasy

 

Join Library Journal and School Library Journal for our inaugural LibraryCon Live! virtual conference. We're excited to offer a day-long celebration with beloved authors of fandom stories and characters, from pulse-pounding sci-fi horror to innovative reboots of classic series to mind-bending speculative fiction across formats. You'll also learn from librarians and industry insiders on how to plan and host your own Comic Con-style event.

 

Plus, network online with other fans and explore our virtual exhibit hall where you'll hear directly from publishers about their newest books and engage in live chats with featured authors. Whether you're a public or school librarian, an educator of teens and young adults, or a superfan of graphic novels and sci-fi/fantasy, don't miss this chance to meet and interact with some of your favorite stars across these genres.

 

LibraryCon Live! is a free, completely virtual conference—no traveling and no cost!

 

Register

Register now! We look forward to 'seeing' you on November 7.

 

Sponsored by

Diamond Book Distributors Penguin Random House
Abrams Andrews McMeel BOOM! Studios Dark Horse
DC Comics First Second Image Comics Junior Library Guild
Lee & Low Books Lion Forge Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Macmillan Children's Publishing
Marvel Comics Penguin Young Readers Scholastic Scholastic

Program

10:00 AM | Booths Open

 

11:00–11:30 AM | Opening Keynote

 

Victor LaValle, Destroyer (BOOM! Studios)

 

11:30 AM–12:15 PM | Panel 1: Women Creators

 

Amy Chu, Summit (Lion Forge)

 

12:15–12:30 PM | Break

 

12:30–1:00 PM | Lunch Keynote

 

1:00–1:45 PM | Panel 2: Hosting Your Own Comic Con-style Library Event

 

Rachel Gagnon, Teen Services Librarian, Haverhill Public Library (MA)
Justin Kontonicolaou, YA Servies Supervisor, Ridgewood Public Library (NJ)
Justin Portelli, Supervising Library Assistant/Technology Supervisor, Fair Lawn Public Library (NJ)

Moderated by:
Brian Hibbs, Store Owner, Comix Experience

 

1:45–2:30 PM | Panel 3: Children's and YA Graphic Novelists

 

2:30–2:45 PM | Break

 

2:45–3:30 PM | Panel 4: Fan Faves

 

Jeremy Whitley, Princeless (Diamond)

 

3:30–4:00 PM | Closing Keynote

 

Margie Stohl, "The Life of Captain Mavel" series (Marvel)

 

Register

Register now! We look forward to 'seeing' you on November 7.

 

Sponsored by

Diamond Book Distributors Penguin Random House
Abrams Andrews McMeel BOOM! Studios Dark Horse
DC Comics First Second Image Comics Junior Library Guild
Lee & Low Books Lion Forge Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Macmillan Children's Publishing
Marvel Comics Penguin Young Readers Random House Young Readers Scholastic

Sponsors

Abrams
 
  Abrams publishes critically acclaimed and bestselling works in children's books ranging from board books to picture books to young adult fiction. Notable titles under the children's imprints of Abrams Books for Young Readers, Amulet Books, and Abrams Appleseed include Jeff Kinney's "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" series, and the Newbery Honor books Heart of a Samurai, by Margi Preus, and El Deafo, by Cece Bell. Other highlights include Andrea Beatty's Rosie Revere, Engineer, Duncan Tonatiuh's Separate is Never Equal, Tom Angleberger's "Origami Yoda" series, and Nathan Hale's "Hazardous Tales" series.
 
Andrews McMeel
 
  Andrews McMeel Universal is distinguished by the uncanny ability to tap into the zeitgeist of popular culture. Specializing in comics, illustrated humor, and inspirational content (think Calvin and Hobbes, Peanuts, and Doonesbury), our remarkable roster of talent includes dozens of New York Times bestselling authors and Pulitzer Prize-, Reuben Award-, and Emmy-Award-winning creators.
 
BOOM! Studios
 
  BOOM! Studios was founded in 2005 with the singular focus of creating world-class comic book and graphic novel storytelling for all audiences. Through the development of four distinct imprints—BOOM! Studios, BOOM! Box, KaBOOM!, and Archaia—BOOM! has produced award-winning original work, including LumberjanesThe WoodsGiant DaysKlaus, and Mouse Guard, while also breaking new ground with established licenses such as WWE, Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, Cartoon Network, and Jim Henson Company properties.
 
Diamond Book Distributors
 
  Diamond Book Distributors (DBD) is a division of Diamond Comic Distributors, Inc., and is dedicated to making a wide selection of its graphic novels and other pop-culture merchandise available to bookstores, libraries, schools, mass merchants and more worldwide.
 
Image Comics
 
  Image Comics is a comic book and graphic novel publisher founded in 1992 by a collective of bestselling artists. Image has since gone on to become one of the largest comics publishers in the United States. Image currently has six individuals on the Board of Directors: Robert Kirkman, Erik Larsen, Todd McFarlane, Marc Silvestri, Jim Valentino, and Eric Stephenson. It consists of five major houses: Todd McFarlane Productions, Top Cow Productions, Shadowline Comics, Skybound Entertainment, and Image Central. Image publishes comics and graphic novels in nearly every genre, sub-genre, and style imaginable. It offers science fiction, fantasy, romance, horror, crime fiction, historical fiction, humor, and more by the finest artists and writers working in the medium today. For more information, please visit imagecomics.com.
 
JLG
 
  Junior Library Guild is the book review and collection development service that helps more than 23,000 libraries acquire the best new children's, young adult, and adult crossover titles for their collections.
 
Lee & Low Books
 
  Lee & Low Books is the largest multicultural children's book publisher in the country. We're also one of the few minority-owned publishing companies in the United States, and we're proud to be an independent publisher. Founded in 1991, we publish contemporary diverse stories that all children could enjoy, and we've pledged to make a special effort to work with unpublished authors and illustrators of color.
 
Lion Forge
 
  Lion Forge is a transmedia studio with a comics and graphic novels publishing focus. Lion Forge (our main imprint) publishes comics for older readers; Roar, our Young Adult imprint, publishes for teens age 13+, Caracal for middle grade readers ages 8–12, and CubHouse for young readers ages 0–8. As a company committed to "Comics for Everyone," we strive to publish titles that reflect the diversity our world in their characters, creators, and employees.
 
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
 
  Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (LBYR) began publishing books for children in 1926. We publish a diverse, carefully curated list of the finest books for young readers of all ages and backgrounds. LBYR has the distinct honor of being the first and only publishing division to have won the Caldecott Medal, the annual award for the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children, three years in a row.
 
Macmillan Children's
 
  Macmillan Children's Publishing Group is home to some of the most highly acclaimed and noteworthy children's/young adult imprints in the publishing industry. MCPG comprises Farrar Straus Giroux Books for Young Readers, Feiwel and Friends, First Second, Henry Holt Books for Young Readers, Imprint, Odd Dot, Priddy Books, Roaring Brook Press, Square Fish, and Swoon Reads.
 
Marvel
 
  Marvel, a wholly-owned subsidiary of The Walt Disney Company, is one of the world's most prominent character-based entertainment companies, built on a proven library of more than 8,000 characters featured in a variety of media over seventy-five years. Marvel utilizes its character franchises in entertainment, licensing and publishing. For more information visit marvel.com.
 
Scholastic
 
  Scholastic was founded in 1920 as a single classroom magazine. Today, Scholastic books and educational materials are in tens of thousands of schools and tens of millions of homes worldwide, helping to Open a World of Possible for children across the globe.
 

Register

Register now! We look forward to 'seeing' you on November 7.

 

Sponsored by

Diamond Book Distributors Penguin Random House
Abrams Andrews McMeel BOOM! Studios Dark Horse
DC Comics First Second Image Comics Junior Library Guild
Lee & Low Books Lion Forge Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Macmillan Children's Publishing
Marvel Comics Penguin Young Readers Scholastic Scholastic

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.